In the last four years the Chair has consolidated the partnerships with other universities, national and international. ‘Horizontal' partnerships among universities may represent a ‘scientific diplomacy', which can enhance the establishment of strategic relations with the goal of enforcing local networks and contributing to foster the capacity building process.
Within the Italian context, Politecnico di Milano (with the direct involvement of the Chairholder) has coordinated the CUCS network, a protocol signed by 30 Rectors of Italian Universities on Cooperation and Development. At international level partnerships have been established with several institutions: European partners have been involved in joint projects and researches, while non-EU network has been enforced in particular with universities of the MENA region and the East African Community, mainly Kenya and Tanzania. The Chair has also strengthened partnerships with international agencies and public institutions, involved in the same pattern of contents focused on international cooperation, sustainable development and energy access.
The UNESCO network has been part of the partnership built. Indeed, the Chair has collaborated with Italian and European Chairs, and in the last year it has started an interaction with the UNESCO Division of Basic & Engineering Sciences.
International Organisations
Africa-EU Energy Partnership (AEEP), International Energy Agency (IEA), The World Bank, The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS), UNIDO
Italian Public Institutions
Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, Direzione Generale Cooperazione allo Svilluppo (DGCS)
Private Sector
Enel, Enel Foundation, eni, FEEM, Edison
Universities and Research Centers
UNESCO network:
  • Italian network of UNESCO Chairs
  • UNESCO Chair in Hydrological Change and Water Resources Management, RWTH Aachen 
  • Chaire UNESCO en alimentations du monde, Centre international d'enseignement supérieur en sciences agronomiques, Montpellier SupAgro
Tempus partners:
  • RWTH Aachen University
  • The American University in Cairo, Egypt
  • Alexandria University, Egypt
  • Ministry of Higher Education, Egypt
  • SEKEM Development Foundation
  • Aswan University, Egypt
  • Heliopolis University, Egypt
  • Zagazig University, Egypt
  • Cairo University, Egypt
  • Bibliotheca Alexandria
  • Technical University of Graz
  • Montpellier SupAgro
  • Fondazione Politecnico di Milano
Edulink partners:
  • Jimma University, Ethiopia
  • Dar Es Salaam Institute  of Technology, Tanzania
  • Technical University of Kenya
  • Technical University of Mombasa, Kenya
TELMS partners:
  • Dar es Salaam Institute of technology
  • Mbeya Institute of Science and Technology
  • Arusha Technical College
Framework agreement:
  • The Nelson Mandela African Institution of Science and Technology
  • Catholic University of Bamada, Cameroon
Existing relationship for projects or research activities:
  • Ramakumar Research Group, Canada
  • NTNU Trondheim, Norway
  • KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • University of Cairo, Egypt
  • University of Sfax, Tunisia
  • University of Hassan II, Morocco
  • University of Saint Joseph, Lebanon
  • University of Aleppo, Syria
  • Technical University of Delft
CUCS Network: Formal Protocol signed by 30 Rectors of Italian Universities on Cooperation and Development coordinated by Politecnico di Milano